2019 SGMW New Year Honours – Picking the Top PR Stars and Cars of the Year

Share Our News

Nominations for the best motoring PR operators and teams, and the top new cars of 2019 are now coming in from Southern Group of Motoring Writers’ members.

Winners of the seven tightly fought categories will then be announced on January 1 as the SGMW New Year Honours list of 2019.

The awards’ debut last year followed a run of successes that have raised the profile of the SGMW: the annual Karting Grand Prix hosted for Group PR contacts; plus the annual summer Heritage Day launched just two years ago at Beaulieu, but now a firm favourite as it offers members and PR colleagues the chance to drive motoring classics – and some likely future counterparts.

In addition, SGMW also runs a regular Sunday ‘Breakfast Boost’ meeting, an opportunity for members and PR colleagues to catch up, talk cars and enjoy the guilty pleasure of a classic ‘fry up’.

“We believe we have shifted up a gear as a Group over the past few years and we now look forward to 2019 with our second New Year Honours list, already causing heated debate amongst the 30-strong membership,” said SGMW Chairman Ian Robertson.

“We will publicise the nominations for the seven categories during the Christmas run-up and hope our colleagues across motoring journalism and PR follow the path to the awards with great interest.

“And while this might be a ‘virtual event’ with no formal awards ceremony – at least for now – all winners receive a handsome trophy to keep, and we will also commend runners-up in all seven categories on New Year’s Day.”

The 2019 categories have been carried over from 2018 and we also list the winners of that inaugural contest here:

  • Best PR Newcomer – awarded to someone who made a special impact in liaising with the media during the past year and is either new to the industry PR scene or has taken on a new role/position.
    WINNER Jess Grimditch – Press Officer, Suzuki
  • The SGMW OBE (Operating Beyond Expectation) – awarded for anyone acting above and beyond the call of PR duty during the past year. It can be for consistent high performance, a memorable one-off effort, or a thoughtful gesture towards one of our members caught in a bind.
    WINNER Craig Morrow – Press Fleet Officer Peugeot, Citroën, DS Automobiles
  • Best PR Office – awarded to the operation consistently delivering the best all-round or forward-thinking service to SGMW throughout the year.
    WINNER Kia
  • Best in PR Innovation – awarded for an unusual or particularly excellent launch, launch route, or any imaginative addition to an event of the PR year in general.
    WINNER Mazda
  • ‘Dark Horse’ of the Year – a car that surprised SGMW members, either by its arrival or just how good it was.
    JOINT WINNERS Hyundai i30N and the Kia Stinger
  • One to Watch – the car that SGMW members are most looking forward to driving in the coming year.
    WINNER Alpine A110
  • SGMW Car of the Year
    WINNER Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio

2018 Winner of the Car of the Year award: the Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *