'Car of the Year' - Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio

Countdown begins to 2019 New Year Honours

Share Our News

There’s just weeks to go until the Southern Group of Motoring Writers reveals the winners of its New Year Honours 2019 – and nominations for the best motoring PR operators and teams, and the top new cars of 2018, are now coming in thick and fast from members.

Winners of the seven tightly fought categories will then be announced on 1 January as the SGMW New Year Honours list of 2019 – with all winners getting a handsome trophy to keep while runners-up will also be commended.

The 2019 categories have been carried over from last year – which marked the inaugural SGMW New Year Honours and saw the following PRs and cars awarded:

Best PR Newcomer – awarded to someone who made a special impact in liaising with the media during the past year and is either new to the industry PR scene or has taken on a new role/position.
WINNER Jess Grimditch – Press Officer, Suzuki

The SGMW OBE (Operating Beyond Expectation) – awarded for anyone acting above and beyond the call of PR duty during the past year. It can be for consistent high performance, a memorable one-off effort, or a thoughtful gesture towards one of our members caught in a bind.
WINNER Craig Morrow – Press Fleet Officer Peugeot, Citroën, DS Automobiles

Best PR Office – awarded to the operation consistently delivering the best all-round or forward-thinking service to SGMW throughout the year.

Best in PR Innovation – awarded for an unusual or particularly excellent launch, launch route, or any imaginative addition to an event of the PR year in general.

‘Dark Horse’ of the Year – a car that surprised SGMW members, either by its arrival or just how good it was.
JOINT WINNERS Hyundai i30N and the Kia Stinger

One to Watch – the car that SGMW members are most looking forward to driving in the coming year.
WINNER Alpine A110

SGMW Car of the Year
WINNER Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio

‘SGMW OBE' - Craig Morrow

PSA’s Craig Morrow scooped the 2018 SGMW OBE (Operating Beyond Expectation) award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *